Keeping Alive the History of Fortuna and the Eel River Valley
This historical attraction is sure to delight railroad enthusiasts, historians, and tourists alike, and features a fascinating glimpse into the North Coast's past. As a depot, in 1893, it orginally stood at the foot of 7th Street where the station master's home still stands. After being abandoned by the Northwestern Pacific Railroad in 1965, the City of Fortuna purchased the depot and moved it to Rohner Park as a Bicentennial project.
The museum contains the history of the Eel River Valley. Collections include intriguing memorabilia from railroad, farm and war eras, including large locks, spark plugs, and barbed wire displays. There is an extended doll collection as well as many types of fishing gear and lures. There are Fortuna High School year books from 1906, old newspapers, books, Indian baskets and many old everyday household items. Books, pictures and information on the local area are a researcher's dream.